March 2024 science fiction & fantasy bestsellers

Mar2024 bestsellers, SF&F

 

bestsellers, March 2024

The Briar Book of the Dead
A G Slatter
Told in the award-winning Brisbane author’s trademark, gorgeous, addictive prose, this is an intricately-woven tale of a family of witches struggling against the bonds of past sins and persecution.
Ellie Briar is the first non-witch to be born into her family for generations. The Briar family of witches run the town of Silverton, caring for its inhabitants with their skills and magic.
In the usual scheme of things, they would be burnt for their sorcery, but the church has given them dispensation in return for their protection of the borders of the Darklands, where the much-feared Leech Lords hold sway. Ellie is being trained as a steward, administering for the town, and warding off the insistent interest of the church.
When her grandmother dies suddenly, Ellie’s cousin Audra rises to the position of Briar Witch, propelling Ellie into her new role. As she navigates fresh challenges, an unexpected new ability to see and speak to the dead leads her to uncover sinister family secrets, stories of burnings, lost grimoires, and evil spells.
Reeling from one revelation to the next, she seeks answers from the long dead and is forced to decide who to trust, as a devastating plot threatens to destroy everything the Briar witches have sacrificed so much to build.
Set in the same universe as the acclaimed All the Murmuring Bones (PBK, $22.99) and The Path of Thorns (PBK, $24.99) (one of Oprah Daily’s Top 25 Fantasy Novels of 2022), this beautifully-told Gothic fairy tale of ghosts, witches, deadly secrets, and past sins, will be perfect for fans of Hannah Whitten and Ava Reid.
Recommended! Signed copies are available.
Gothic fantasy | PBK | $27.99

bestsellers, March 2024

The Queen’s Price (Black Jewels 12)
Anne Bishop
The Queen’s price is to stand against what you know is wrong. To stand and fight, no matter the cost to your court or to yourself. Especially to yourself.
Zoey, a young Queen-in-training at SaDiablo Hall, is wounded… and vulnerable to taunts and criticism. When an opportunity arises to befriend a stranger seeking sanctuary at the Hall, she puts herself and others in danger by ignoring Daemonar Yaslana’s warning to back off.
Meanwhile, the witch Jillian’s family prepares for her Virgin Night, the rite of passage that assures a woman will retain her power and her Jewels. The trouble is Jillian secretly went through the ceremony already. Now, she must explain the omission of that detail to her powerful and lethal family. And the High Lord of Hell’s daughter, Saetien, travels to Scelt to find out about Jaenelle Angelline’s sister – and perhaps to discover truths about herself.
With some guidance from Witch, these three young women will learn when to yield because it is right – and when to take a stand, even if they must pay the Queen’s price.
Fantasy | PBK | $22.99

bestsellers, March 2024

All Systems Red (Murderbot Diaries 01)
Martha Wells
‘As a heartless killing machine, I was a complete failure.’
Need we even print the blurb, again? Just read the damned book, FFS. And it won just about every award the field – so, it’s not just us, okay?!
Science fiction novella | HC/TP | $29.99/$26.99

bestsellers, March 2024

Artificial Condition (Murderbot Diaries 02)
Martha Wells
Artificial Condition is the follow-up to Martha Wells’ Hugo, Nebula, Alex, and Locus Award-winning, New York Times-bestselling All Systems Red (HC/TP, $29.99/$26.99).
It has a dark past – one, in which a number of humans were killed. A past that caused it to christen itself ‘Murderbot’.
But it has only vague memories of the massacre that spawned that title, and it wants to know more.
Teaming up with a Research Transport vessel, named ART (you don’t want to know what the ‘A’ stands for), Murderbot heads to the mining facility where it went rogue. What it discovers will forever change the way it thinks…
This won the Nebula Award for best novella – and if it’s possible – I think I love this even more than the first one (it’s the interaction between AIs – just great!) Really – you just have to read these! – Ron.
Note that Artificial Condition won both the Nebula and Hugo Awards for Best Novella (just as the first one did!) in 2019.
Science fiction novella | HC/TP | $29.99/$26.99

bestsellers, March 2024

Generation Ship
Michael Mammay
In this riveting, standalone novel from Michael Mammay, the beginning of a new human colony must face tyrannical leaders, revolution, crippling instability, and an unknown alien planet that could easily destroy them all.
In 2108, Colony Ship Voyager departed Earth for the planet of Promissa with 18,000 of the world’s best and brightest on board. Two hundred and fifty years, and 27 light-years later, an arrival is imminent.
But all is not well.
The probes that they’ve sent ahead to gather the data needed to establish any kind of settlement aren’t responding, and the information they have received has presented more questions than answers. It’s a time when the entire crew should be coming together to solve the problem, but science officer Sheila Jackson can’t get people to listen.
With the finish line in sight, a group of crewmembers want an end to the draconian rules that their forebearers put in place generations before. However, security force officer Mark Rector and his department have different plans. As alliances form and fall, Governor Jared Pantel sees only one way to bring Voyager’s citizens together and secure his own power: a full-scale colonisation effort. Yet, he may have underestimated the passion of those working for the other side…
Meanwhile, a harsh alien planet awaits that might have its own ideas about being colonised. A battle for control brews, and victory for one group could mean death for them all.
Space opera | TP | $36.99

bestsellers, March 2024

2034 (a novel of the Next World War)
Elliot Ackerman & James Stavridis
On March 12, 2034, US Navy Commodore Sarah Hunt is on the bridge of her flagship, the guided missile destroyer USS John Paul Jones, conducting a routine freedom of navigation patrol in the South China Sea when her ship detects an unflagged trawler in clear distress, smoke billowing from its bridge.
On that same day, US Marine aviator Major Chris ‘Wedge’ Mitchell is flying an F35E Lightning over the Strait of Hormuz, testing a new stealth technology, as he flirts with Iranian airspace.
By the end of that day, Wedge will be an Iranian prisoner, and Sarah Hunt’s destroyer will lie at the bottom of the sea, sunk by the Chinese Navy.
Iran and China have clearly coordinated their moves, which involve the use of powerful new forms of cyber weaponry that render US ships and planes defenceless.
In a single day, America’s faith in its military’s strategic pre-eminence is in tatters.
Alternate history | PBK | $22.99

bestsellers, March 2024

Mission Critical (Terran Republic 01)
Charles E Gannon; Griffin Barber; Chris Kennedy; Mike Massa
Soldiers lost in time, 152 light-years from home – with a daunting task, for survival…
Taken from their planet, and their century, they are not just the Lost Soldiers: they are Murphy’s Lawless.
Major Rodger Y Murphy should have died, when his helicopter crashed off the coast of Mogadishu in 1993. Instead, he woke up in 2125, 152 light-years from home. Murphy – and 100 other ‘Lost Soldiers’ – have been retrieved and awakened, by two officers of the Consolidated Terran Republic: Trevor Corcoran and Richard Downing.
Promising to return, Corcoran and Downing leave the 20th-century castaways with a daunting objective: establish a base of operations on the main world of R’Bak using local allies they have yet to recruit and enemy equipment they have yet to seize. They haven’t been back, yet.
But the company of misfits and ne’er-do-wells, who’ve taken the nickname Murphy’s Lawless, rise to the challenge!
The first in a new shared universe series.
Space opera | PBK | $26.95

bestsellers, March 2024

Aftermarket Afterlife (Incryptid 13)
Seanan McGuire
Seanan McGuire’s bestselling and Hugo Award-nominated urban fantasy InCryptid series continues with the 13th book following the Price family, cryptozoologists – who study and protect the creatures living in secret all around us…
Mary Dunlavy didn’t intend to become a professional babysitter. Of course, she didn’t intend to die, either, or to become a crossroads ghost. As a babysitting ghost, she’s been caring for the Price family for four generations, and she’s planning to keep doing the job for the better part of forever.
With her first charge finally back from her decades-long, cross-dimensional field trip, with a long-lost husband and adopted daughter in tow, it’s time for Mary to oversee the world’s most chaotic family reunion. And that’s before the Covenant of St George launches a full-scale strike against the cryptids of Manhattan, followed quickly by an attack on the Campbell Family Carnival.
It’s going to take every advantage and every ally they have, for the Prices to survive what’s coming – and for Mary, to avoid finding out the answer to a question she’s never wanted to know: what happens to a babysitting ghost if she loses the people she’s promised to protect?
Urban fantasy | TP | $37.95

bestsellers, March 2024

Network Effect (Murderbot Diaries 05)
Martha Wells
The first full-length novel in Martha Wells’ bestselling Murderbot Diaries series.
‘I caught myself rereading my favourite parts… and I can’t recommend it enough.’ – New York Times.
You know that feeling when you’re at work, and you’ve had enough of people, and then the boss walks in with yet another job that needs to be done right this second or the world will end, but all you want to do is go home and binge your favourite shows?
And you’re a sentient murder machine programmed for destruction…
Come for the pew-pew space battles, stay for the most relatable AI you’ll read, this century.
I’m usually alone in my head, and that’s where 90-plus per cent of my problems are.
When Murderbot’s human associates (not friends, never friends) are captured, and another not-friend from its past requires urgent assistance, Murderbot must choose between inertia and drastic action.
Drastic action, it is, then.
Love, love, love it! Cannot recommend highly enough! (If you want one, but we don’t have any in the shop – please, do order one, to stake your claim on the stock we will receive!) If you haven’t read Wells’ preceding novellas – then start with All Systems Red (HC/TP, $29.99/$26.99).
Science fiction | HC/TP | $42.99/$32.99

bestsellers, March 2024

Here Be Dragons (Rivers of London graphic novels 11)
Ben Aaronovitch; et al
An all-new original adventure starring Peter Grant, the wizard-in-training hero of the first Rivers of London novel.
After a rash of strange UFO sightings above the capital, a Met Police helicopter night patrol is attacked by what can only be described as a dragon!
Wizard in training Peter Grant and his mentor, Thomas Nightingale, the Met’s only sanctioned wizard, takes to the skies to investigate.
As the mystery deepens, Peter and Thomas find themselves caught between two groups of hunters – one human, one fae – and he uncovers the legacy of events that extend all the way back to the late ’60s and one of London’s most famous residents – a certain ‘Experienced’ rock star – who made a pact with the Demimonde that was never fulfilled.
To save the skies of the city, Peter will have to face the enraged beast – but can he end things peacefully… Or will he be forced to destroy the last wyvern?
The continuing comic-book adaptation of Ben Aaronovitch’s hugely-successful and award-winning 10-book novel series, first published in 2011.
Urban fantasy | PBK | $32.99

© 2024 Pulp Fiction Books - Proudly powered by theme Octo