December 2023 crime & mystery bestsellers

Dec2023 bestsellers, C&M

 

bestsellers, December 2023

The Christmas Appeal (Fairway Players mysteries 02)
Janice Hallett
The cast of the Sunday Times bestselling The Appeal return for a festive, murder mystery…
One dead Santa. A town full of suspects. Will you discover the truth?
Christmas in Lower Lockwood, and the Fairway Players are busy rehearsing their festive pantomime, Jack and the Beanstalk, to raise money for the church roof appeal.
But despite the season, goodwill is distinctly lacking amongst the amateur dramatics enthusiasts. Sarah-Jane is fending off threats to her new position as Chair, the fibreglass beanstalk might be full of asbestos, and a someone is intent on ruining the panto even before the curtain goes up.
Of course, there’s also the matter of the dead body. Who could possibly have had the victim on their naughty list? Join lawyers Femi and Charlotte as they read the round robins, examine the emails, and pore over the police transcripts. Will the show go on?
A delightful, festive, murder mystery from the Sunday Times bestselling author of The Appeal (PBK, $24.99), in which the characters return for panto season — and a murder.
Mystery | HC | $26.99

bestsellers, December 2023

Murder in a Heatwave: Classic Crime Mysteries for the Holidays (anthology)
Cecily Gayford (editor)
Murder never takes a break…
As the days get longer, escape your troubles and take a trip to the desperately-hot towns, where nightfall lingers and a sun-drenched picnic can end in panic. No matter how murderously-high the temperatures rise, these stories will chill you to the bone. So, grab a cool drink and step into the shade… if you dare.
Featuring terrifying tales of summertime murder and mayhem from Dorothy L Sayers, Arthur Conan Doyle, Carter Dickson, Michael Innes, Baroness Orczy, Margery Allingham, Ian Rankin, Julian Symons, Ethel Lina White, and Rex Stout.
Classic mystery | PBK | $22.99

bestsellers, December 2023

The Crossing Places (Dr Ruth Galloway mysteries 01)
Elly Griffiths
Dr Ruth Galloway is called in when a child’s bones are discovered near the site of a prehistoric henge on the north Norfolk salt marshes. Are they the remains of a local girl who disappeared ten years earlier — or are the bones much older?
DCI Harry Nelson refuses to give up the hunt for the missing girl. Since she vanished, someone has been sending him bizarre anonymous notes about ritual sacrifice, quoting Shakespeare and the Bible. He knows that Ruth’s expertise and experience could help him finally to put this case to rest.
But when a second child goes missing, Ruth finds herself in danger from a killer who knows she’s getting ever closer to the truth…
Discover the Dr Ruth Galloway Mysteries — one of the most popular crime series, in Britain. Start the journey here, and you will be hooked…
Mystery | PBK | $22.99

bestsellers, December 2023

Slow Horses (Slough House series 01)
Mick Herron
Slough House is a dumping ground for members of the intelligence service who’ve screwed up: left a service file on a train, say, blown a surveillance, or become drunkenly unreliable.
They’re the service’s poor relations — the slow horses — and most bitter among them is River Cartwright, whose days are spent transcribing mobile phone conversations.
But when a young man is abducted, and his kidnappers threaten to behead him live on the internet, River sees an opportunity to redeem himself.
But is the victim who he first appears to be? And what’s the kidnappers’ connection with a disgraced journalist? As the clock ticks on the execution, River finds that everyone involved has their own agenda…
Shortlisted for the CWA Ian Fleming Steel Dagger Award. This critically-acclaimed first book in Mick Herron’s bestselling Slough House series is now a major Apple TV+ series starring Gary Oldman and Kristen Scott Thomas.
We love these! (we’re old school fans of the series, from way back) — and thanks to the popularity of the fantastic adaptation, the whole series is selling briskly to brand-new fans!
Suspense | PBK | $22.99

bestsellers, December 2023

Everyone on This Train is a Suspect (Ernest Cunningham mysteries 02)
Benjamin Stevenson
Six writers. Five detectives. Four days. Three weapons. Two murders. One train…
When the Australian Mystery Writers’ Society invited me to their crime-writing festival aboard the Ghan, the famous train between Darwin and Adelaide, I was hoping for some inspiration for my second book. Fiction, this time: I needed a break from real people killing each other. Obviously, that didn’t pan out.
The program is a who’s who, of crime-writing royalty: the debut writer (me!)… the forensic science writer… the blockbuster writer… the legal thriller writer… the literary writer… the psychological suspense writer.
But when one of us is murdered, six authors quickly turn into five detectives. Together, we should know how to solve a crime.
Or commit one.
How can you find a killer when all the suspects know how to get away with murder?
‘It’s fun and diverting, with a plethora of red herrings.’ — New York Times.
The eagerly awaited follow-up, to the international bestseller Everyone In My Family Has Killed Someone (PBK, $22.99) — another deliciously-witty locked-room mystery, for fans of Richard Osman and Anthony Horowitz. Recommended!
Mystery | TP | $32.99

bestsellers, December 2023

The Unexpected Guest (Dania Gorska mysteries 05)
Hania Allen
It was a quiet day for the funeral. Until the bomb went off…
Midwinter in Poland, and Dania Gorska and her brother Marek are in Warsaw, attending the funeral of her old piano teacher, Jakub Frydman. At the graveside is rabbi Salomon Steinberg and several former pupils.
As the service draws to an end, a figure is glimpsed through the mist throwing a wreath into the open grave. And as the mourners file out of the cemetery, they hear an explosion: the grave of Jakub Frydman has been destroyed and the perpetrator — the unexpected guest at the graveside — has made a clean getaway.
But who was the intended victim? Was it an antisemitic attack — but against the old teacher, or the rabbi? Or was it drugs related… and Dania and her investigative journalist brother the targets? Now, Dania must trade Dundee for Warsaw, to follow up leads on an international drugs syndicate — and find a resolution to this most unexpected and deadly of crimes.
This is the next fast-paced crime novel, featuring Polish detective DI Dania Gorska, as she finds herself taken back to Warsaw. This popular series begins with The Polish Detective (PBK, $24.99).
Mystery | PBK | $24.99

bestsellers, December 2023

The Enchanters
James Ellroy
James Ellroy at his most crazed, brilliant, provocative, and profanely hilarious — a luminous psychological drama and an unparalleled thrill ride…
Los Angeles. August 4, 1962. The city broils through a mid-summer heat wave. Marilyn Monroe ODs. A B-movie starlet is kidnapped. The overhyped LAPD overreacts. Chief Bill Parker’s looking for some getback. The Monroe deal looks like a moneymaker. He calls in Freddy Otash.
The freewheeling Freddy O. Tainted ex-cop, defrocked private eye, dope fiend, and freelance extortionist. A man who lives by the maxim ‘Opportunity is Love’. Freddy gets to work. He dimly perceives Marilyn Monroe’s death, and the kidnapped starlet, to be a poisonous riddle that only he has the guts and the brains to untangle.
We are with him as he tears through all those who block his path to the truth. We are with him as he penetrates the faux-sunshine of Jack and Bobby Kennedy and the shuck of Camelot. We are with him as he falters, and grasps for love beyond opportunity. We are with him as he tracks Marilyn Monroe’s horrific last charade through a nightmare LA that he served to create — and as he confronts his complicity and his own raging madness.
It’s the summer of ’62, baby. Freddy O’s got a hot date with history. The savage Sixties are ready to pop. The Rolling Stones proclaim it best: We’re just a shout away.
Historical noir | TP | $32.99

bestsellers, December 2023

Mistletoe Malice
Kathleen Farell
The fire is on, sherry poured, presents wrapped, and claws are being sharpened. In a seaside cottage perched on a cliff, one family reunites for Christmas.
While snow falls, a tyrannical widowed matriarch presides over her unruly brood. Her niece tends to her whims, but fantasises about eloping; and as more guests arrive, each bringing their secret truths and dreams, the Christmas tree explodes, a brawl erupts, an escape occurs — and their ‘midwinter madness’ climaxes…
A dysfunctional family reunites for the Christmas holiday from hell, in this rediscovered festive classic with fangs — for fans of Barbara Pym, Elizabeth Taylor, and Stella Gibbons.
Historical fiction | PBK | $22.99

bestsellers, December 2023

The Running Grave (Cormoran Strike mysteries 07)
Robert Galbraith
Private Detective Cormoran Strike is contacted by a worried father whose son, Will, has gone to join a religious cult in the depths of the Norfolk countryside.
The Universal Humanitarian Church is, on the surface, a peaceable organisation that campaigns for a better world. Yet, Strike discovers that beneath the surface there are deeply sinister undertones, and unexplained deaths.
In order to try to rescue Will, Strike’s business partner Robin Ellacott decides to infiltrate the cult and she travels to Norfolk to live incognito amongst them. But in doing so, she is unprepared for the dangers that await her there or for the toll it will take on her…
Utterly page-turning, The Running Grave moves Strike and Robin’s story forward in the epic, unforgettable seventh instalment of the series. The first is The Cuckoo’s Calling (PBK, $22.99).
Mystery/suspense | TP | $34.99

bestsellers, December 2023

The Defector (Apollo Murders series 02)
Chris Hadfield
Israel, late 1973. As the Yom Kippur War flares into life, a state-of-the-art Soviet MIG fighter is racing at breakneck speed over the arid scrublands below… and promptly disappears.
NASA Flight Controller and former US Navy test pilot Kaz Zemeckis watches the scene from the ground — and is quickly pulled into a dizzying, high-stakes game of spies, lies and a possible high-level defection that plays out across three continents.
The prize is beyond value: the secrets of the Soviets’ mythical ‘Foxbat’ MiG-25, the fastest, highest-flying fighter plane in the world and the key to Cold War air supremacy. But every defection is double-edged with risk, and Kaz must tread a careful line between trust and suspicion.
Ultimately, he must invite the fox into the henhouse — bringing the defector into the heart of the United States’ most secret test site — and hope that, with skill and cunning, the game plays out his way.
For Chris Hadfield’s second heart-stopping thriller, we move from space, to another rich and exciting part of Chris’ CV: his time as a top test pilot in both the US Air Force and the US Navy, and as an RCAF fighter pilot intercepting armed Soviet bombers in North American airspace.
Full of insider detail, excitement and political intrigue drawn from real events, The Defector brings us the nerve-shredding rush of aerial combat, as told by one of the world’s best fighter pilots.
‘An exciting journey to an alternate past’ — Andy Weir.
From the author of the international bestselling thriller The Apollo Murders (PBK, $22.99): a supersonic hunt for a shadowy Soviet defector, known only as ‘Grief’.
Suspense | TP | $32.99

© 2024 Pulp Fiction Books - Proudly powered by theme Octo