Bestsellers

These are the Pulp Fiction bestsellers for the month of May 2017. Other months’ bestsellers may be found on the Catalogues page.

Jump straight down to the Crime and Mystery bestsellers

 

Bestsellers, Science Fiction & Fantasy: May 2017

#1

Assassin’s Fate (Fitz and the Fool 03)
Hobb, Robin
Much anticipated conclusion to the Fitz and the Fool trilogy – very many happy customers!
Fantasy | TP/HC | $32.99/$39.99

#2

The Collapsing Empire (Flow 01)
Scalzi, John
Oh, yeah! Fantastic new space opera from one of the modern masters of the genre – classic stuff but with a very modern sensibility…
Space opera | PBK | $19.99

#3

The Gathering Edge (Liaden Universe 20)
Lee, Sharon & Miller, Steve
A series milestone – the 20th Liaden Universe novel! If you like great, character-driven space opera – á la Bujold and Moon – then this is for you. And as it’s basically mostly stand-alone tomes all set in the same universe – you don’t have to worry about series order so much…
Space opera | HC | $46.95

#4

Cold Welcome (Vatta’s Peace 01)
Moon, Elizabeth
Return to the fabulous universe of the Vatta’s War series, in this first instalment of a new trilogy.
Space opera | PBK | $22.99

#5

Bound (Alex Verus 08)
Jacka, Benedict
Richard Drakh, the sadistic dark-mage Alex escaped as an apprentice, has him in his clutches once more – and this time escape won’t be so easy… Latest in the terrific urban fantasy series.
Urban fantasy | PBK | $19.99

#6

The Goblin Emperor
Addison, Katherine
Yes, we know it came out a couple of years ago – but Ron has finally got around to reading it and is obsessed… and forcing copies upon anyone who will listen to him… (it’s very, very good!)
Fantasy | PBK | $19.95

#7

Dr DOA (Secret Histories 10)
Green, Simon R
Eddie Drood is investigating a man who gets away with murder – operating from the darkest shadows of the hidden world – coming and going unseen. And when Eddie himself is targeted – the stakes have suddenly escalated… Urban fantasy.
Urban fantasy | PBK | $19.95

#8

Alien Education (Alien 15)
Koch, Gini
Urban fantasy series that just keeps going from strength to strength as new readers discover its twisted delights.
Science fiction | PBK | $19.95

#09

Doctor Who: Plague City
Morris, Jonathan
Featuring the 12th Doctor (as portrayed by Peter Capaldi), with companions Bill and Nardole.
Doctor Who | HC | $19.99

#10

Infinity Engine (Transformation 03)
Asher, Neal
There’s about to be a showdown on the cusp of the Layden's Sink black hole – inside of which lies a powerful secret – one that could destroy the entire Polity… Hard science fiction – will appeal to fans of Banks and Reynolds, et al.
Science fiction | TP | $32.99

 

Bestsellers, Crime & Mystery: May 2017

#1

Devil’s Breath (Max Tudor 05)
Malliet, G M
Agatha Award-winning author G M Malliet has charmed mystery lovers, cosy fans, and Agatha Christie devotees with her critically acclaimed mysteries featuring handsome spy-turned-cleric Max Tudor. Fans of modern English-village cosy fare will love this series
Mystery | PBK | $22.99

#2

The Third Nero (Flavia Albia 05)
Davis, Lindsey
Intrigue – and possibly treason – swirl around the halls of power in Rome when yet another Nero pretender emerges to challenge the Emperor. Flavia Albia, daughter and chip off the old block of Marcus Didius Falco, would rather avoid any and all court intrigue, but times are tough – and so with more than a few reservations, she agrees to ‘investigate’. Always great to have a new tome from the wonderful Ms Davis!
Historical mystery | TP | $32.99

#3

Killer Characters (Books by the Bay mysteries 08)
Adams, Ellery
From the New York Times bestselling author of Writing All Wrongs, it's a rotten state of affairs in Oyster Bay, and the Bayside Book Writers are out to end a nasty plot… as cosy as cosy can be!
Mystery | PBK | $19.95

#4

The Wychford Poisoning Case (Collins’ Crime Detective Club)
Berkeley, Anthony
First published in 1926. A Mrs Bentley is accused of poisoning her husband with arsenic and is soon to stand trial for her life. Public opinion is against Mr Bentley’s French wife – However, our hero, detective Roger Sheringham is convinced she is innocent and is determined to clear her name.
Classic mystery | HC | $24.99

#5

The Silk-Stocking Murders (Collins’ Crime Detective Club)
Berkeley, Anthony
Gentleman sleuth and novelist Roger Sheringham would not have ordinarily been curious about the suicide of chorus girl Miss Unity Ransome – but when three other young women are found hanged dead by silk stockings Sheringham realises that what he is investigating is actually murder. More great Collins Crime Club reissues!
Classic mystery | HC | $24.99

#6

Family Matters (British Library Crime Classics)
Rolls, Anthony
According to the blurb: ‘This richly characterised and elegantly written crime novel from 1933 is a true forgotten classic’. When a bohemian bachelor from London appears on the scene – all goes murderously awry… (isn’t that always the way?)
Classic mystery | TP | $27.95

#7

Die Like An Eagle (Meg Langslow mysteries 20)
Andrews, Donna
Ridiculously popular cosy mystery series – and once again it’s up to Meg Langslow to work out whodunit – and why…
Meg Langslow | PBK | $19.95

#8

Books of a Feather (Bibliophile mysteries 10)
Carlisle, Kate
Rare book expert Brooklyn Wainwright’s bookbinding and restoration skills invariably uncover old secrets, treachery – and murder. Brooklyn finds herself in the thick of a mystery – that’s rapidly growing more dangerous…
Mystery | PBK | $19.95

#09

The Groote Park Murder (Collins’ Crime Detective Club)
Crofts, Freeman Wills
From a murder in South Africa to the tracking down of a master criminal in northern Scotland, this is a true classic of Golden Age detective fiction by one of its most accomplished champions.
Classic mystery | HC | $24.99

#10

The Awkward Squad
Henaff, Sophie
Ron’s current favourite! Translated from French – set in Paris – a bunch of misfit Parisian policemen and women are seconded into a new squad and given the files on literally thousands of minor and – it turns out – not-so-minor cold cases. Really charming – great characters – and quite a good little plot! Hope there are more in the works!
Caper | TP | $32.99