Bestsellers, Science Fiction & Fantasy: March 2018

#1


Into the Fire (Vatta’s Peace)
Elizabeth Moon
In this new military SF thriller from the Nebula Award-winning author of Cold Welcome, Admiral Kylara Vatta is back – with a vengeance. Ky beats sabotage, betrayal, and the unforgiving elements to lead a ragtag group of crash survivors to safety on a remote arctic island. And she cheats death after uncovering secrets someone is hell-bent on protecting. But the worst is far from over when Ky discovers the headquarters of a vast conspiracy against her family and the heart of the planet’s government itself.
Space opera | PBK | $22.99

#2

A Call to Vengeance (Manticore Ascendant 03)
David Weber, Timothy Zahn & Thomas Pope
Book three in the Manticore Ascendant series: a prequel series to David Weber’s Honor Harrington series. Sequel to A Call to Duty and A Call to Arms (PBK, $19.95 each).
Space opera | HC | $47.95

#3

Tricks for Free (Incryptid 07)
Seanan McGuire
The seventh book in the funny and fast-paced InCryptid urban fantasy series returns to the mishaps of the Price family, eccentric cryptozoologists who safeguard the world of magical creatures living in secret among humans. This volume keeps the series’ focus on Antimony. Includes an all-new Aeslin mice novella and a map of Lowryland! (Which will make total sense, if you read the books!)
Urban fantasy | PBK | $19.95

#4

The Tethered Mage (Swords & Fire 01)
Melissa Caruso
In the Raverran Empire, magic is scarce, and those born with power are strictly controlled – taken as children and conscripted into the Falcon Army. Zaira has lived her life on the streets to avoid this fate, hiding her mage-mark and thieving to survive. But hers is a rare and dangerous magic, one that could threaten the entire empire. Lady Amalia Cornaro was never meant to be a Falconer. Heiress and scholar, she was born into a treacherous world of political machinations. But fate has bound the heir and the mage. And as war looms on the horizon, a single spark could turn their city into a pyre. ‘Set in a rich world of political intrigue and dangerous magic, The Tethered Mage is a spellbinding debut from a major new talent’ – publisher’s blurb – AND WE AGREE! Sort of a Renaissance Venice vibe about the city/state – it’s lush. Charming new series – recommended! The sequel, The Defiant Heir (PBK, $19.99) is now also available.
Fantasy | PBK | $19.99

#5

Terms of Enlistment (Frontlines 01)
Marko Kloos
The year is 2108, and the North American Commonwealth is bursting at the seams. For welfare rats like Andrew Grayson, there are only two ways out of the crime-ridden and filthy welfare tenements, where you’re restricted to 2,000 calories of badly flavoured soy every day Andrew chooses to enlist in the armed forces for a shot at real food, a retirement bonus, and maybe a ticket off Earth. But as he starts a career of supposed privilege, he soon learns that the good food and decent health care come at a steep price… and that the settled galaxy holds far greater dangers than military bureaucrats or the gangs that rule the slums. This kind of crept up on us – but lots of regulars have been telling us how good the series is (the sixth instalment is just out) – so we’ve been telling everyone about it – and number one is now a bestseller here. Fans of Weber, Honsinger, et al, should enjoy this…
Military SF | TP | $29.95

#6

Burn Bright (Alpha & Omega 05)
Patricia Briggs
Mated werewolves Charles Cornick and Anna Latham face a threat like no other – one that lurks too close to home… They are the wild and the broken. The werewolves too damaged to live safely among their own kind. For their own good, they have been exiled to the outskirts of Aspen Creek, Montana. Close enough to the Marrok’s pack to have its support; far enough away to not cause any harm. With their Alpha out of the country, Charles and Anna are on call, when an SOS comes in from the fae mate of one such wildling. Heading into the mountainous wilderness, they interrupt the abduction of the wolf – but can’t stop blood from being shed. Now Charles and Anna must use their skills – his as enforcer, hers as peacemaker – to track down the attackers, reopening a painful chapter in the past that springs from the darkest magic of the witchborn… The first in the Alpha & Omega series is Cry Wolf (PBK, $19.99).
Paranormal romance | PBK | $19.99

#7

Killing Gravity (Voidwitch 01)
Corey J White
Before she escaped in a bloody coup, MEPHISTO transformed Mariam Xi into a deadly voidwitch. Their training left her with terrifying capabilities, a fierce sense of independence, a deficit of trust, and an experimental pet named Seven. She’s spent her life on the run, but the boogeymen from her past are catching up with her. An encounter with a bounty hunter has left her hanging helpless in a dying spaceship, dependent on the mercy of strangers. Penned in on all sides, Mariam chases rumours to find the one who sold her out. To discover the truth and defeat her pursuers, she’ll have to stare into the abyss and find the secrets of her past, her future, and her terrifying potential. A brilliant 176pp Tor.com novella from an ex-Brisbanite! Highly recommended for fans of Scalzi and Firefly. We. Love. This. So polished – hard to believe it’s a first book! Its sequel, Void Black Shadow (PBK, $18.99) is out now.
Space opera | PBK | $18.99

#8

Lake Silence (World of the Others 01)
Anne Bishop
Human laws do not apply in the territory controlled by the Others – vampires, shape-shifters, and even deadlier paranormal beings. And this is a fact that humans should never, ever forget… After her divorce, Vicki DeVine took over a rustic resort near Lake Silence, in a human town that is not human controlled. Towns such as Vicki’s don’t have any distance from the Others, the dominant predators who rule most of the land and all of the water throughout the world. And when a place has no boundaries, you never really know what is out there watching you. Vicki was hoping to find a new career and a new life. But when her lodger, Aggie Crowe – one of the shape-shifting Others – discovers a murdered man, Vicki finds trouble instead. The detectives want to pin the death on her, despite the evidence that nothing human could have killed the victim. As Vicki and her friends search for answers, ancient forces are roused by the disturbance in their domain. They have rules that must not be broken – and all the destructive powers of nature at their command. This is a thrilling and suspenseful fantasy, set in the world of the New York Times bestselling Others series. ‘Anne Bishop writes with a world-class blend of humour and chills. Her world is startlingly original.’ – Charlaine Harris.
Urban fantasy | HC | $49.95

#9

Tempests and Slaughter (Numair Chronicles 01)
Tamora Pierce
Arram Draper is on the path to becoming one of the realm’s most powerful mages. The youngest student in his class at the Imperial University of Carthak, he has a Gift with unlimited potential for greatness – and for attracting trouble. At his side are his two best friends: Varice, a clever girl with an often-overlooked talent, and Ozorne, the ‘leftover prince’ with secret ambitions. Together, these three friends forge a bond that will one day shape kingdoms. And as Ozorne gets closer to the throne and Varice gets closer to Arram’s heart, Arram realises that one day – soon – he will have to decide where his loyalties truly lie… ‘Tamora Pierce didn’t just blaze a trail. Her heroines cut a swath through the fantasy world with wit, strength, and savvy. Her stories still lead the vanguard today. Pierce is the real lioness, and we’re all just running to keep pace.’ – Leigh Bardugo, #1 New York Times bestselling author. So much love for Pierce! Still beloved after all these years.
YA fantasy | PBK | $19.99

#10

Autonomous
Annalee Newitz
Earth, 2144. Jack is an anti-patent scientist turned drug pirate, traversing the world in a submarine as a pharmaceutical Robin Hood, fabricating cheap scrips for poor people who can’t otherwise afford them. But her latest drug hack has left a trail of lethal overdoses as people become addicted to their work, doing repetitive tasks until they become unsafe or insane. Hot on her trail, an unlikely pair: Eliasz, a brooding military agent, and his robotic partner, Paladin. As they race to stop information about the sinister origins of Jack’s drug from getting out, they begin to form an uncommonly close bond that neither of them fully understand. And underlying it all is one fundamental question: Is freedom possible in a culture where everything, even people, can be owned? Fantastic! Recommended.
Science fiction | PBK | $19.99