Bestsellers, Science Fiction & Fantasy: October 2017

#1

La Belle Sauvage (Book of Dust 01)
Philip Pullman
Renowned storyteller Philip Pullman returns to the parallel world of Lyra Belacqua and His Dark Materials for a thrilling and epic adventure – set ten years before events in The Golden Compass – in which dæmons, alethiometers, and the Magisterium all play a part.
YA fantasy | TP | $32.99

#2

The Trials of Morrigan Crow (Nevermoor 01)
Jessica Townsend
Wundrous! A breathtaking, enchanting new series by debut author Jessica Townsend, about a cursed girl who escapes death and finds herself in a magical world – but is then tested beyond her wildest imagination… Townsend is a young Sunshine Coast writer (who even worked at Australia Zoo!) and this book has sold internationally to uniformly rave reviews! Holy cow!
YA fantasy | PBK | $16.99

#3

The Furthest Station (PC Peter Grant novella)
Ben Aaronovitch
There’s something going bump on the Metropolitan line and Sergeant Jaget Kumar knows exactly who to call. It’s PC Peter Grant’s speciality. Only it’s more than going ‘bump’. Traumatised travellers have been reporting strange encounters on their morning commute. Stranger still, despite calling the police themselves, within a few minutes the commuters have already forgotten the encounter – making the follow-up interviews rather difficult. But soon it becomes apparent that finding the ghost and deciphering their urgent message might just be a matter of life and death. Novella – not a full-length novel, alas – but lotsa fun nonetheless!
Urban fantasy | HC | $26.99

#4

Killing Gravity (Voidwitch Saga 01)
Corey White
A brilliant 176pp Tor.com novella from an ex-Brisbanite! Highly recommended for fans of Scalzi and Firefly. We. Love. This. So polished – hard to believe it’s a first book!
Space opera | PBK | $22.99

#5

A Scandal in Battersea (Elemental Masters 12)
Mercedes Lackey
The twelfth novel in Mercedes Lackey’s magical Elemental Masters series reimagines Sherlock Holmes in a richly-detailed, alternate 20th-century England… It begins slowly. Women disappearing in the dark of night, women only missed by those of their own kind. The whispers only begin when they start to reappear – because when they do, they are no longer sane. And it will take the combined forces of Magic, Psychic Powers, and the world’s greatest detective to stop the darkness before it can conquer all.
Fantasy | HC | $49.95

#6

Provenance
Ann Leckie
Following her record-breaking debut trilogy, Ann Leckie, winner of the Hugo, Nebula, Arthur C Clarke and Locus Awards, returns with a thrilling new story of power, theft, privilege and birthright… Ingray and her charge will return to their home world to find their planet in political turmoil, at the heart of an escalating interstellar conflict. Together they must make a new plan to salvage Ingray’s future, her family and her world before they are lost to her for good.
Military SF | TP | $32.99

#7

The Collapsing Empire (Flow 01)
John Scalzi
Oh, yeah! Fantastic new space opera from one of the modern masters of the genre – classic stuff but with a very modern sensibility… Love this!
Space opera | PBK | $19.99

#8

Star Wars: From a Certain Point of View
Various Authors
In honour of the fortieth anniversary, more than forty contributors lend their vision to this retelling of Star Wars. Each of the forty short stories reimagines a moment from the original film, but through the eyes of a supporting character. From a Certain Point of View features contributions by bestselling authors, trendsetting artists, and treasured voices from the literary history of Star Wars
Star Wars/media tie-in | TP | $32.99

#9

Behind the Throne (Indranan War 01)
K B Wagers
Former gunrunner-turned-Empress Hail Bristol was dragged back to her home planet to fill her rightful position in the palace. With her sisters and parents murdered, the Indranan Empire is on the brink of war. Hail must quickly make alliances with nearby worlds if she has any hope of surviving her rule. Military space opera series that’s been hugely popular here – and the third one is due to drop fairly shortly…
Space opera | PBK | $22.99

#10

The Core (Demon Cycle 05)
Peter V Brett
New York Times bestselling author Peter V Brett brings one of the most imaginative fantasy sagas of the 21st century to an epic close. ‘Fans of epic fantasy in the tradition of Robert Jordan and George R R Martin will enjoy the arrival of a strong voice in multivolume epic fantasy.’ – Library Journal.
Fantasy | TP | $32.99