Bestsellers, Science Fiction & Fantasy: November 2017


Killing Gravity (Voidwitch Saga 01)
Corey White
A brilliant 176pp novella from an ex-Brisbanite! Highly recommended for fans of Scalzi and Firefly. We. Love. This. So polished – hard to believe it’s a first book! A new instalment of the series is due next year.
Space opera | PBK | $18.99


Oathbringer (Stormlight Archives 03)
Brandon Sanderson
The long-awaited sequel to The Way of Kings: Parts One & Two and Words of Radiance: Parts One & Two (PBK, $19.99 each). In all fairness – we must point out that at time of writing this – we’ve sold out. And so have the publishers – here and overseas, apparently. There is a reprint due – but it won’t be until sometime in the new year.
Fantasy | TP | $32.99


Beyond the Empire (Indranan War 03)
K B Wagers
The action-packed conclusion to this fantastic trilogy. (See #5 for the first in the series.) Gunrunner-turned-empress Hail Bristol was dragged back to her home planet to take her rightful place at the palace, Her sisters and parents have been murdered, and the empire is reeling from both treasonous plots and foreign invasion. Untangling a legacy of lies and restoring peace will require an empress’ wrath – and a gunrunner’s justice… Hugely popular series. Recommended!
Space opera | PBK | $22.99


The Trials of Morrigan Crow (Nevermoor 01)
Jessica Townsend
Wundrous! A breathtaking, enchanting new series by debut author Jessica Townsend, about a cursed girl who escapes death and finds herself in a magical world – but is then tested beyond her wildest imagination… Townsend is a young Sunshine Coast writer (who even worked at Australia Zoo!) and this book has sold internationally to uniformly rave reviews! Holy cow!
YA fantasy | PBK | $16.99


Behind the Throne (Indranan War 01)
K B Wagers
Former gunrunner-turned-Empress Hail Bristol was dragged back to her home planet to fill her rightful position in the palace. With her sisters and parents murdered, the Indranan Empire is on the brink of war. Hail must quickly make alliances with nearby worlds if she has any hope of surviving her rule. This military space opera series has been hugely popular here.
Space opera | PBK | $22.99


A Plague of Giants (Seven Kennings 01)
Kevin Hearne
Kevin’s new series… not an Iron Druid novel! Tallynd is both warrior – and mother. Dervan is an historian – who is also a spy. Abhi is a hunter – and a rebel. Set in a magical world of terror and wonder, in which the fates of these characters intertwine – and ordinary people become heroes – and their lives become legend…
Fantasy | PBK | $19.99


Andy Weir
From the author of the bestselling The Martian. Artemis is the first – and only – city on the moon. And Jazz Bashara has grown up there. And she’s a criminal. Kind of. If smuggling a little harmless contraband counts. But when Jazz gets involved in the perfect crime – and it blows up in her face – and the stakes are control of Artemis – and her survival – then a girl’s gotta do what a girl’s gotta do… This is really good. Modern tech and snark – but it feels like a very comfortable Clarke or Asimov or Heinlein tale from their Golden Age underlies it. A great deal of fun. Recommended!
Science fiction | TP | $32.99


The Collapsing Empire (Flow 01)
John Scalzi
Oh, yeah! Fantastic new space opera from one of the modern masters of the genre – classic stuff but with a very modern sensibility… Love this! And still in our top ten! Clearly, many others are loving it also…
Space opera | PBK | $19.99


Empire Games (Empire Games 01)
Charles Stross
A continuation of Stross’ wonderful Merchant Princes series. Two nuclear superpowers are set on a collision course. Two increasingly desperate paratime espionage agencies try to find a solution to the first contact problem that doesn’t result in a nuclear holocaust. And two women – a mother and her daughter – are about to find themselves on opposite sides of the confrontation…
Science fiction thriller | PBK | $19.99


Forbidden Suns (Silence 03)
D Nolan Clark
Aleister Lanoe has been on a mission since before he can remember. And through three centuries of constant warfare, he has never met a foe whom he cannot best. But now he faces a mission that may be his last: take vengeance on the alien race who has coldly and systematically erased all the sentient life in its path. In all his years at war – the stakes have never been higher… Getting great feedback on the series from customers!
Space opera | PBK | $22.99