Bestsellers, Crime & Mystery: October 2019

#1

The Spotted Dog (Corinna Chapman 07)
Kerry Greenwood
Intrepid baker and erstwhile investigator Corinna Chapman returns triumphantly in her first adventure in seven years. When a distraught Scottish veteran from Afghanistan is knocked unconscious, waking up to find his beloved ex-service dog missing, Corinna and her lover, Daniel, find themselves inextricably drawn into the machinations of a notorious underworld gang of drug runners. Corinna and Daniel need to pull together all the strings to find the connections between their wandering Scottish veteran, his kidnapped dog, a student dramatic society that’s moved into Corinna’s building, burglaries and the threatening notes that begin to mysteriously appear in Corinna’s apartment. Between her forays into danger, there is still time in Corinna’s life for tender encounters as the delicious aromas of newly baked breads, muffins and treats waft out of Corinna’s bakery, Earthly Delights. Now in paperback.
Mystery | PBK | $19.99

#2

Lark! The Herald Angels Sing (Meg Langslow 24)
Donna Andrews
It’s Christmastime in Caerphilly. Meg, full of holiday spirit, is directing a nativity pageant when she finds a surprise in the manger: a living, breathing baby girl. A note from the mother says it’s time for the father to take care of her – and implicates Meg’s brother, Rob, as the father. A DNA test can reveal the truth but Rob’s afraid that suspicion itself could derail his plan to propose to the woman he loves. So, Meg – always up to the task – makes it her merry business to find proof of paternity. But her investigation into the life of Lark, as the infant is named, leads to more questions than answers. Is someone using Lark as a pawn in a sinister game? And why does Meg feel that she is the one being threatened most of all? ‘If you long for more fun mysteries, à la Janet Evanovich, you’ll love [this] series.’ – Charlotte Observer. We. Sell. Lots. Of Donna Andrews. Recommended!
Mystery | PBK | $21.95

#3

The Case of the Wandering Scholar (Laetitia Rodd mysteries 02)
Kate Saunders
M C Beaton meets Miss Marple in the second book in the Laetitia Rodd Mysteries, which sees Kate Saunders’ Victorian detective on the hunt for a missing Oxford academic. In 1851, private detective Laetitia Rodd is enjoying a well-earned holiday when she gets an urgent request for her services. Mrs Rodd’s neighbour Jacob Welland is a reclusive, rich gentleman dying of consumption, and he wants Mrs Rodd to find his brother, who has been missing for fifteen years. Joshua Welland was a scholar at Oxford, brilliant, eccentric, and desperately poor when he disappeared from the university. Friends claim to have seen him since, in gypsy camps and wandering around the countryside. But the last sighting was ten years before – when Joshua claimed to be learning great secrets from the gypsies that would one day astound the whole world. Mrs Rodd travels to Oxford and begins to search for the wandering scholar. But as she investigates, Mrs Rodd discovers something dark – and extremely dangerous – lurking in the beautiful English countryside. For readers of James Runcie, Alexander McCall Smith, and M C Beaton, The Case of the Wandering Scholar is a delightful new mystery about Victorian England and an indomitable female detective. Mrs Rodd is introduced in The Secrets of Wishtide (PBK, $19.99).
Historical mystery | TP | $29.99

#4

Murder at the British Museum (Museum mysteries 02)
Jim Eldridge
1894. A well-respected academic is found dead in a gentlemen’s convenience cubicle at the British Museum, the stall locked from the inside. Professor Lance Pickering had been due to give a talk promoting the museum’s new ‘Age of King Arthur’ exhibition when he was stabbed repeatedly in the chest. Having forged a strong reputation working alongside the inimitable Inspector Abberline, on the Jack the Ripper case, Daniel Wilson is called in to solve the mystery, and he brings his expertise and archaeologist Abigail Fenton with him… It’s in the BM in the late-Victorian Era. Irresistible! Start with Murder at the Fitzwilliam (PBK, $19.99), if you haven’t already!
Historical mystery | PBK | $19.99

#5

Unto Us a Son is Given (Commissario Brunetti 28)
Donna Leon
Now in paperback. As a favour to his wealthy father-in-law, the Count Falier, Commissario Guido Brunetti agrees to investigate the seemingly innocent wish of the Count’s best friend, the elderly and childless Gonzalo, to adopt a younger man as his son. Under Italian inheritance laws, this man would become the sole heir to Gonzalo’s substantial fortune, something which Gonzalo’s friends, including the Count, find appalling. For his part, Brunetti wonders why they’re so intent on meddling in the old man’s business. Not long after Brunetti meets with Gonzalo, the elderly man unexpectedly passes away from natural causes. Old and frail, Gonzalo’s death goes unquestioned, and a few of his oldest friends gather in Venice to plan the memorial service. But when Berta, a striking woman and one of Gonzalo’s closest confidantes, is strangled in her hotel room, Brunetti is drawn into long-buried secrets from Gonzalo’s past. What did Berta know? And who would go to such lengths to ensure it would remain hidden? It’s like a holiday in Venice – you’d swear you’re breathing Venetian air and eating fantastic food! – without needing to use a passport and board a plane. Lovely. Recommended!
Mystery | PBK | $19.99

#6

Many Rivers to Cross (DCI Banks 26)
Peter Robinson
The 26th instalment of the internationally bestselling DCI Banks series. When the body of a teenage boy is found stuffed into a wheelie bin on the East Side Estate, Banks and Annie have a home-grown murder case to solve. But Banks’ attention is also on Zelda, who, in helping him track down his old enemy, has put herself in danger and alerted the stone-cold Eastern European sex traffickers who brought her to the UK. Great police procedural – recommended!
Mystery | TP | $32.99

#7

Rocket to the Morgue (American Mystery Classics)
Anthony Boucher
Legendary science fiction author Fowler Faulkes may be dead, but his creation, the iconic Dr Derringer, lives on in popular culture. Or, at least, the character would live on if not for Faulkes’ predatory and greedy heir Hilary, who, during his time as the inflexible guardian of the estate, has created countless enemies in the relatively small community of writers of the genre. So, when he is stabbed nearly to death in a room with only one door, which nobody was seen entering or exiting, Foulkes suspects a writer. Fearing that the assailant will return, he asks for police protection, and when more potentially-fatal encounters follow, it becomes clear to Detective Terry Marshall and his assistant, the inquisitive nun, Sister Ursula, that death awaits Mr Foulkes around every corner. Now, they’ll have to work overtime to thwart the would-be murderer?a task that requires a deep dive into the strange, idiosyncratic world of science fiction in its early days. With characters based heavily on Anthony Boucher’s friends at the Manana Literary Society, including Robert Heinlein, L Ron Hubbard, and Jack Parsons, Rocket to the Morgue is both a classic locked room mystery and an enduring portrait of a real-life writing community. Reprinted for the first time in over thirty years, the book is a must-read for fans of mysteries and science fiction alike. Great fun!
Classic mystery | TP | $33.95

#8

The Christmas Card Crime and Other Stories (British Library Crime Classics)
Martin Edwards (editor)
A Christmas party is punctuated by a gunshot under a policeman’s watchful eye. A jewel heist is planned amidst the glitz and glamour of Oxford Street’s Christmas shopping. Lost in a snowstorm, a man finds a motive for murder. This collection of mysteries explores the darker side of the festive season – from unexplained disturbances in the fresh snow, to the darkness that lurks beneath the sparkling decorations. With neglected stories by John Bude and E C R Lorac, as well as tales by little-known writers of crime fiction, Martin Edwards blends the cosy atmosphere of the fireside story with a chill to match the temperature outside. This is a gripping seasonal collection sure to delight mystery fans.
Classic mystery | TP | $28.95

#9

The Mitford Scandal (Mitford Murders 03)
Jessica Fellowes
In the third book in the Mitford Murders series, lady’s maid Louisa Cannon accompanies Diana Mitford into a turbulent late 1920s’ Europe. The year is 1928, and after the death of a maid at a glamorous society party, brewing heir Bryan Guinness seizes life and proposes to eighteen-year-old Diana, most beautiful of the six Mitford sisters. The maid’s death is ruled an accident, and the newlyweds put it behind them to begin a whirlwind life zipping between London’s Mayfair, chic Paris, and hedonistic Berlin. Accompanying Diana as her lady’s maid is Louisa Cannon, as well as a coterie of friends, family and hangers on, from Nancy Mitford to Evelyn Waugh. When a second victim is found in Paris in 1931, Louisa begins to see links with the death of the maid two years previously. Now, she must convince the Mitford sisters that a murderer could be within their midst… all while shadows darken across Europe, and within the heart of Diana Mitford herself. The first in the series is The Mitford Murders ($19.99).
Historical mystery | TP | $32.99

#10

Murder at Archly Manor (High Society Lady Detective 01)
Sara Rosett
A high-society murder. A spirited lady detective. Can she outclass the killer before an innocent person takes the fall? London, 1923. Olive Belgrave needs a job. Despite her aristocratic upbringing, she’s penniless. Determined to support herself, she jumps at an unconventional job – looking into the background of her cousin’s fiancé, Alfred. Alfred burst into the upper crust world of London’s high society, but his answers to questions about his past are decidedly vague. Before Olive can gather more than the basics, a murder occurs at a posh party. Suddenly, every Bright Young Person in attendance is a suspect, and Olive must race to find the culprit because a sly murderer is determined to make sure Olive’s first case is her last. Murder at Archly Manor is the first in the High Society Lady Detective series of charming historical cosy mysteries. If you like witty banter, glamorous settings, and delightful plot twists (we know you do!), you’ll love bestselling author Sara Rosett’s series for Anglophiles and mystery lovers, alike. Travel back to the golden age of detective fiction with Murder at Archly Manor – too much fun!
Historical mystery | TP | $28.95